BLATI Members and Supporters


Carol McGruder, African American Tobacco Control Leadership Council, Founding Member & Co-Chair

Rev. Paulette Gipson, Compton NAACP, President

Greg Akili, Fannie Lou Hamer Institute, Director

Mike Asfall, NAACP - Los Angeles, Vice President

Eric Batch, American Heart Association, Vice President - Advocacy

Cheryl Branch, Los Angeles Metro Churches, Executive Director

Josh Brown, American Heart Association, Grassroots Manager

Reverend John Edward Cager III, Ward African Methodist Episcopal Church, Senior Pastor

Malia M. Cohen, California State Board of Equalization, Member

Dr. Phillip Gardiner, PhD, African American Tobacco Control Leadership Council, Co-Chair 

Reverend Paulette Gipson, Compton NAACP, President

Dr. Willie Goffney, American Cancer Society Action Network, Volunteer Ambassador

Corey Jackson, CA Democratic Party Black Caucus, Chair

Pepi Jackson, Riverside Black Chamber of Commerce, President

George McKenna, Los Angeles Board of Trustees, Trustee

Bob Nunez, NAACP - San Jose, President

Rhonda Smith, CA Health Network, Executive Director

Regina Stell, NAACP - Riverside, President

Reverend Harvey Vaughn, Bethel AME Church, Senior Pastor

Betty Williams, NAACP - Sacramento, President

Dr. Valerie Yerger, N.D., Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences at UCSF, Professor of Health Policy



Additional Support for the
Campaign to Protect California Kids

Elected Supporters

California Secretary of State Shirley Weber

Superintendent of Education Tony Thurmond

California State Board of Equalization Malia Cohen

U.S. Representative Karen Bass, Los Angeles

California Senator Sydney Kamlager, Los Angeles

California State Assemblymember Akilah Weber, San Diego

California State Assemblymember Kevin McCarty, Sacramento

County Supervisor Federal D. Glover, Contra Costa County

County Supervisor Chuck Washington, Riverside

Mayor Lamar Thorpe, Antioch

Mayor Paul A. Courtney, Barstow

Mayor Pro Tem James Noble, Barstow

Councilmember Alan Lee, Big Bear Lake

Vice Mayor Porshe Middleton, Citrus Heights

City Attorney Damon Brown, Compton

Mayor Emma Sharif, Compton

Councilmember Jonathan Bowers, Compton

Councilmember Walter Allen, Covina

Councilmember Alex Monteiro, Hawthorne

Mayor Pro Tem Malcolm Lilienthal, Hemet

Councilmember Paul Akinjo, Lathrop

Mayor Racquel Vasquez, Lemongrove

Councilmember Rex Richardson, Long Beach

Councilmember Marqueece Harris-Dawson, Los Angeles

Vice Mayor Tyller Williamson, Monterey

Councilmember Marcus Bush, National City

Councilmember Carroll Fife, Oakland

Councilmember John J. Kennedy, Pasadena

Councilmember Michael Smith, Redwood City

Mayor Deborah Robertson, Rialto

Councilmember Demnlus Johnson, Richmond

Councilmember Rick Jennings, Sacramento

Mayor London Breed, San Francisco


Mayor Ian Oglesby, Seaside

Councilmember Jon Wizard, Seaside

Mayor Pro Tem Wanda Williams, Suisun City


Supporting Organizations

African American Tobacco Control Leadership Council

African Communities Public Health Coalition (ACPHC)

Association of Black Women Physicians

Black Caucus of Health Workers

California Black Health Network

California/Hawaii State Conference of the NAACP

Central Valley Black Nurses Association

Community Coalition

Los Angeles Metropolitan Churches